STATE OF MINNESOTA
IN SUPREME COURT
File No. 51882



IN RE HEARING ON THE CREATION OF A NEW ELEVENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT.

ORDER

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court conducted a hearing on December 19, 1980, on a petition of the Judicial Planning Committee recommending the creation of a new Eleventh Judicial District, thereby reducing the Seventh and Tenth Judicial Districts, and

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court concuded that while the recommendation contains much merit, it is not feasible at this time, and

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court has drafted its own alternate plan for county court districts within the existing Seventh and Tenth Judicial Districts of the district court, and

WHEREAS, the Supreme has ordered that a second hearing on this matter be held in the Supreme Court chambers at 9:30 a.m. on Friday, April 17, 1981, and

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court has ordered that advance notice of the hearing be given by the publication of its Order of February 17, 1981 in the Supreme Court edition of Finance & Commerce, the Saint Paul Legal Ledger and Bench and Bar, and

WHEREAS, the above orders have been complied with and a hearing on the said redistricting plan has been held on April 17, 1981, Mr. Roger J. Nierengarten and Mr. John E. MacGibbon making presentations, and

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court recognizes and accepts the responsibility conferred upon the court by Minnesota Statutes 1978, Section 487.01, subdivison 6, and by promulgating this Order intends to discharge its obligations under the law, and

WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Minnesota Supreme Court that, wherever possible, judges of county court should be elected by and be responsible to persons in the counties in which they reside by maintaining chambers in the counties of their residence, and

WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Minnesota Supreme Court that, wherever possible, judicial resources should be allocated in such a way that each county in a judicial district shall have at least one county court judge resident therein before any other county in the judicial district shall have two or more resident county court judges,

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that effective August 1, 1981, the county court districts of the Seventh and Tenth Judicial Districts are constituted as follows:

The following county court districts already approved in the western portion of the Seventh Judicial District by court order dated, October 18, 1979, will continue in effect:

District A - Counties of Clay, Becker and Otter Tail;

District B - Counties of Douglas, Todd and Wadena.

 New county court districts in the Eastern portion of the Seventh Judicial District consisting of the following counties or portions thereof are hereby created:

District C - Counties of Stearns and Benton;

District D - Counties of Mille Lacs and Morrison.

3. The county court districts within the Tenth
Judicial District will consist of the following:

District A - All of Anoka County;

District B - All of Washington County;

District C - Wright and Sherburne Counties;

District D - Pine, Isanti, Chisago and Kanabec Counties.

Chambers of existing judges will be set in those county seats where chambers currently exist.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the county court judge, or his successor, formerly serving Kanabec County shall continue to serve Kanabec County until further order of this court. This order will be reviewed when the Legislature provides additional judgeships for the Tenth Judicial District.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the county court judges, or their successors, formerly serving Sherburne County shall continue to serve Sherburne County until further order of this court. This order will be reviewed when the Legislature provides additional judgeships for the Tenth Judicial District.

DATED: July 20, 1981.

BY THE COURT